Merge provides options that help you proactively manage duplicate production linked accounts!

In some cases, duplicate production linked accounts can create unintended issues for you and your customers (e.g. rate limiting issues, higher costs, etc.).

Proactively Handling Duplicate Production Linked Accounts

Merge offers options that enable you to decide how you would like Merge Link to behave when we detect an end user attempting to integrate a third-party account that has already been integrated, so you can provide the experience that you want to your customers.

To view and configure your desired behavior, navigate to Configuration > Integrations > Settings in your Dashboard, where you will find the below setting.

From this screen, there are three options you can choose from:

  • Create a new linked account with the previously used credentials

    • This is the default option.

    • When Merge Link detects an end user attempting to integrate a third-party account that has already been integrated with your organization, Merge will treat it as normal and create a new, duplicate linked account using the provided credentials.

  • Show a success message in Link to the end user but do not create a new Linked Account with the previously used credentials

    • This option is used when you want to create the illusion of a successful integration to your end user, and handle the association of your end user and the pre-existing linked account within your product.

    • When Merge Link detects an end user attempting to integrate a third-party account that has already been integrated with your organization, Merge Link will show a success message to your end user, but will not create a new linked account for that end user.

      • Merge Link will return a public_token that can be used to retrieve the account token of the detected duplicate linked account when passed to the GET /account-token endpoint.

    Merge Link success screen that will be surfaced to your end user

  • Show an error message in Link to the end user and do not create a new Linked Account with the previously used credentials

    • This option is used to proactively prevent duplicate production linked accounts from being created.

    • When Merge Link detects an end user attempting to integrate a third-party account that has already been integrated with your organization, Merge Link will show an error message telling the end user that the account they are trying to connect already has an existing connection. Merge will not create a new linked account for that end user.

Merge Link error screen that will be surfaced to your end user

Duplicate Production Linked Account Warnings

When Merge detects duplicate Linked Accounts, we will flag those accounts in the Dashboard so that you can take action on them, if needed.

For any Production Linked Account where there is another Production Linked Account in your organization that shares the same credentials, Merge will flag those accounts with the below icon in the Linked Accounts dashboard page:

To review and take action on the duplicate Linked Accounts Merge detected, select the Linked Account with duplicates that you would like to review. On the Linked Account detail page for Linked Accounts with duplicates, you will see the below banner:

Clicking Review Duplicates will take you to a filtered view of the Linked Accounts page, where you will see Linked Accounts that are duplicates of each other.

From this view, you can either:

  1. Delete any duplicate Linked Accounts, if they should not be there

  2. Click “Ignore” in the banner to dismiss warnings on the set of duplicate Linked Accounts, if they are intended to be there

Did this answer your question?